Tuesday, 16 April 2024
    Parliament marks Cath Ed bicentenary

    Parliament marks Cath Ed bicentenary

    Federal Members of Parliament last week jointly supported a private member’s motion to acknowledge 200 years of Catholic education in Australia, the National Catholic Education Commission has announced.

    Member for Parramatta Julie Owens moved the motion on June 23, which was supported by five other members. The anniversary marks the opening of the first official Catholic school, opened on Hunter Street in Parramatta in October 1820.

    “It’s with great pleasure that I rise today to acknowledge the bicentenary of Catholic education in Australia,” Ms Owens said. “Two of the schools in my electorate, St Patricks Parramatta and Parramatta Marist High School, trace their origins back to that very first school on Hunter Street.

    “I want to congratulate all the Catholic schools on what is now their third century,” Ms Owens said. “Congratulations to their teachers, staff and students on what is an incredible achievement. I know we will see many more great achievements in years to come.”

    Member for Berowra Julian Leeser said decades before public education existed anywhere in this country, we had church schools, charity schools, which taught children from all walks of life.

    “That legacy has not only been formational in Australia’s history but continues to serve the Australian community today, with the incredible service Catholic schools provide to families and communities.”

    Member for Bennelong John Alexander said Catholic schools have become the largest non-government providers of schooling in Australia, with one in five school-age students attending a Catholic school.

    “Catholic schools will continue to represent a vital part of the Australian educational landscape in the future,” Mr Alexander said. “This government is committed to continuing our support for Catholic schools.”


    Federal Parliament marks the bicentenary of Catholic education (NCEC)


    Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta executive director Greg Whitby, Joanne Ryan MP, Julian Leeser MP, Diocese of Parramatta chief of operations and finance Geoff Officer and Julie Owens MP. Source: Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta.